Cookies are used to improve the website experience, you can disable cookies, otherwise we presume you are happy to use cookies. Close

Your Feedback

PLease feel free to leave us som efeedback from either an event you have attended or setup here at The Civic Centre.

Glass in the auditorium?!!!
starstarstar

Submitted:  11th August 2017

I used to live in Trowbridge (and trod the boards many times at the old Civic Hall!) and was looking forward to seeing the new Civic Centre since its refurbishments. I attended Jethro last night with my 80 year old father. Unfortunately we couldn't get seats together so I was sat a little back from the stage and was very disappointed to realise that I was in amongst a large group of young men who had obviously been drinking a lot prior to the show. Whilst I had no problem with this per se, what I was astounded at was that the Civic Centre would allow pint glasses to be brought into the show as well as beer bottles and bottles of wine. I lost count of the number of times the glasses were kicked over, drink spilt all over the floor and glass smashed. NO venue that I go to allows this any more - all drinks are decanted into plastic cups when they are being taken into a show. I saw many instances of broken glass last night on the floor and when my Father challenged a member of staff about the broken glass after the show she simply turned round and said 'oh its only one glass'. I am very sorry but an attitude like that, and a ridiculous policy of allowing glass in the auditorium left me with a poor impression of the facility. It will soon become as shabby and with a poor floor as it was in years gone by if you allow this behaviour to continue. One other small detail but just as important - please get someone to spellcheck your signage! All these little things contribute to a good impression and a facility such as this should be proud of itself.

70s & 80s Night
star

Submitted:  24th October 2016

I hired the civic Centre on the 1st October 2016 for a 70s & 80s night.I confirmed the booking around May 2016 and dealt with a member of staff,then around a week before the event that team member had changed so I got 2 different views on the costs of hiring the hall..On the night they were very good and the event went really well with about 300 people attending..Unfortunately as of today 24th October I am still awaiting payment from the accounts dept because they need 3 signatures for my payment..Went into the information centre today and no one seems interested or knows when payment will be issued..It was a bitter sweet experience for me..

Hells Bells
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  24th September 2016

Rockin evening, close your eyes and it could almost be the real Ac/DC !

Summer at the Civic
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  6th September 2016

The staff were always on hand to help and very friendly. The venue itself was clean and a perfect setting for our event. We couldn't have been more pleased.

Process:
starstarstarstarstar

Welcoming:
starstarstarstarstar

Room Rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Service Rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Facility Rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Toms Test
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  13th August 2016

Testing

Catering rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Process:
starstarstarstarstar

Welcoming:
starstarstarstarstar

Room Rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Service Rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Facility Rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Party for Life 6th November 2015
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  21st December 2015

Fantastic team! From start to finish your customer service and support on the night was flawless...thank you so much for helping me to deliver an amazing night of fun and funds! We raised in PROFIT £7,002.06! Amazing and all in one night

Event
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  7th December 2015

Good responsive service and setup as requested, will book again if there is some leeway on prices to bring these nearer community based alternatives.

Cleanliness rating:
starstarstarstar

Catering rating:
starstarstarstar

Staff rating:
starstarstarstar

Expectations met:
starstarstarstar

Visiting again?
starstarstar

Recommend us?
starstarstar

Christmas Craft & Food Fair
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  30th November 2015

The staff on shift could not have been more helpful which helped the event run smoothly. Very happy with the event and the venue

Cleanliness rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Staff rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Expectations met:
starstarstarstarstar

Visiting again?
starstarstarstarstar

Excellent Attention to Detail
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  30th November 2015

We found the room laid out exactly as we had requested, it was really clean and tidy. Food provided was to a good standard.

Employee Awards Event
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  3rd November 2015

Excellent support from all your staff. A very enjoyable lunch. Everything we requested was done with a 'no problem' attitude to a high standard, and your Tech colleague was also extremely valuable and helpful.

40th Birthday Party
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  21st October 2015

Staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough to help me organise my party. Bar staff on the night were fantastic and just everything about the experience of booking the venue and talking to staff was fantastic. My friends and family also said what a lovely place the Civic Centre is.

Cleanliness rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Catering rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Staff rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Expectations met:
starstarstarstarstar

Visiting again?
starstarstarstarstar

Recommend us?
starstarstarstarstar

Wedding Fair
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  8th September 2015

We hosted a wedding Fair at the Civic and the staff could not have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and both myself, Wayne and all the exhibitors said how lovely the staff were on the day. The venue looked perfect and the attention to detail was second to none

Wedding party
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  23rd August 2015

Absolutely superb service from the initial viewing of the venue down to the smaller details of catering, drinks and decorations etc. All staff could not have been more willing to help and there was a real sense that everyone was really informed about the event details. We and the guests had a fantastic time and we would thoroughly recommend the Civic Centre as a wedding party venue! I will send some photos through once we have gone through them.

Cleanliness rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Catering rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Staff rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Expectations met:
starstarstarstarstar

Visiting again?
starstarstarstarstar

Recommend us?
starstarstarstarstar

Trapeze at Civic Centre
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  13th July 2015

A pleasant meeting space with personable assistance whenever required. Although the room layout was unusual with T shaped tables, we expected this and it was not a problem. Supplied projector was incompatible with HDMI output.

Cleanliness rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Catering rating:
starstarstarstar

Staff rating:
starstarstarstar

Expectations met:
starstarstarstar

Visiting again?
starstarstar

Recommend us?
starstarstarstar

Workshop
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  2nd July 2015

The venue is lovely. Everything went smoothly even though we changed the table layout at the last minute. Would definitely use them again

SportInspired/Selwood Housing
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  1st July 2015

We were very well looked after. Everyone was responsive and friendly and the space was fantastic.

Imperial Charity 25th Anniversary Show
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  16th June 2015

Overall our experience was very good. All staff were extremely helpful and co-operative and the venue itself was ideal for our show. Although the Dressing Rooms were adequate, it is felt they would be much improved with the provision of coat hooks for performers etc to use. Coat hooks in the corridor were not felt to be of use to people using dressing rooms.

Cleanliness rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Catering rating:
starstarstarstar

Staff rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Expectations met:
starstarstarstar

Visiting again?
starstarstarstarstar

Recommend us?
starstarstarstarstar

Club Development Roadshow
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  11th June 2015

Lovely venue with very helpful & friendly staff although I do feel your prices are very expensive

Everything went well
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  11th June 2015

As usual everything went without a hitch and no problems were encountered. Usual high standards

Really helpful staff
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  23rd April 2015

Our event went smoothly. Lovely room and a good choice of refreshments were provided. The staff did everything they could to help when the projector broke down. Would certainly use the Civic Centre again.

BGPERT meeting
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  13th April 2015

Good venue. Very helpful team with the set up of IT and catering etc

Best event yet - hope the rest are as well organised as this one was
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  13th April 2015

Very professional from start to finish, cannot praise Michael and his team there enough. Without doubt the best event I have had there so far. Hope this is a sign of things to come there.

Well done
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  10th April 2015

Very well organised, although the mic's could have worked better

Dinner Dance
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  10th April 2015

Very well looked after throughout, glitter ball stopped working during the dance

Half Day Meeting/Conference
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  10th April 2015

This was well organised, with very helpful staff. Would definitely use again

SITES DPD Stakeholder Engagement Workshop 05/March/2015
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  10th April 2015

Event went well!

Longfield Community Centre
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  26th February 2015

We are half way through running a Parenting Course in the evening at the community centre. We are finding it a good venue for such a group and Steve is great at making sure we are ok and have everything we need every week.

WWCE Solar
starstarstar

Submitted:  29th January 2015

Good venue but too expensive for more general use by voluntary sector

Cleanliness rating:
starstarstar

Catering rating:
starstarstar

Staff rating:
starstarstarstar

Expectations met:
starstar

Visiting again?
starstar

Recommend us?
starstar

test
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  8th December 2014

Too many Becky's makes it confusing!

Cleanliness rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Catering rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Staff rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Expectations met:
starstarstarstarstar

Visiting again?
starstarstarstarstar

Recommend us?
starstarstarstarstar

Swan Advocacy Conference
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  16th June 2014

Excellent venue, staff were very helpful and on hand when there was a problem. We had an IT problem where the projector failed to work when one of our speakers were presenting, however this was quickly resolved after the tea break, would suggest making sure technical checks are carried out prior to the event and backup is in place ready to go, as we were informed this happened previously to another event the day before. Food was really good, plenty provided and some lovely home made cakes. Some of our delegates reported that there was not much for vegetarians, as there appeared to be only cheese or egg options. The fillings were very nice but seemed to be very basic, ranging from: ham, ham and salad, Cheese, cheese and pick, egg or tuna, this could be improved by providing some more interesting options like prawn or beef which always go down well. All in all a very good day, Many thanks

Cleanliness rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Catering rating:
starstarstar

Staff rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Expectations met:
starstarstar

Visiting again?
starstarstarstar

Recommend us?
starstarstarstar

Half Day Conference
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  28th May 2014

Very well organised and good hospitality on the day. The only slight drawback was the large window in the Council Chamber which made slides hard to read at times.

School Performance
star

Submitted:  23rd April 2014

The staff at The Civic Centre were helpful and polite, both front of house and technician. This year all our requirements on our booking form had been carried out prior to our arrival. One criticism that we have is over your policy on food at the venue - We feel that as a it is unrealistic to expect that school children will not bring a packed lunch and that we have to request permission in advance to bring their own lunch on the day. The tone and wording of the e-mail that was sent to us  was unnecessary particularly in relation to FSM children having the lunch with them prior to entering the building. We would not expect parents to have to purchase catering from yourselves for a school event and feel that your policy on food at the venue needs amending. The price for hiring the venue is costly enough without the addition of catering and these costs have to be passed on to our parents.

Royal Horse Artillery Association - Reunion Dinner
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  11th April 2014

We have used the Lansdown Hall for our reunion dinners on a regular basis for well over 15 years and we have never been disappointed by the standard of the venue or the always helpful and efficient staff at every level. Catering provision has always been excellent be it provided by Mrs B or Victoria Moore both have served us well over the years. Many Royal Horse Artillery units were based in Trowbridge in years long gone and it has been the wish of our association members to continue the link with the town. We have certainly been well looked after whenever we have returned.

Cleanliness rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Catering rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Staff rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Expectations met:
starstarstarstarstar

Visiting again?
starstarstarstarstar

Recommend us?
starstarstarstarstar

Center Parcs Recruitment Open Day
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  3rd February 2014

Thank you for accommodating us. We really enjoyed the venue and found it to be a great location to hold an open day for Center Parcs. The events team were welcoming and helpful in our set up, and dealing with our additional requests. Many thanks

Trowbridge Civic Response:
Many thanks for the positive feedback. We hope the open day was a success, and that we see you back in the near future.

NCT nearly new sale
starstarstar

Submitted:  26th November 2013

Set up staff were brilliant help move and provided us with extra tables and assisted with a few queries. We had previously called to confirm our end time clashing with the diabetics function and was told it was ok but the security for this event were talking loudly even before 1 o clock and complaining about us being there. When challenged they said nothing was wrong but still continued to moan making us all feel uncomfortable. Iwe were also asked about refreshments for both our helpers and buyers. We would very much like these provided or provide our own for future events especially when one pregnant lady felt feint and wanted a biscuit or something to eat. The venue size and layout is perfect for our function and we would very much like to use you again next november

Stagecoach Trowbridge at The Civic Centre
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  19th November 2013

Stagecoach Trowbridge enjoyed a wonderful evening on Saturday at the Civic Centre - the facilities were modern, clean and professional. All the staff were helpful and kind. I would like to particularly thank Terry, our technician who looked after us brilliantly and made the whole technical side of things easy. Claire in the office was always quick to reply and offer any assistance she could, so overall the experience was extremely good. We would love to come again!

Trowbridge Civic Response:
Many thanks for your positive feedback. We are glad the event went well for you and that the booking process before the event was a good experience. Your feedback for the Technician will be passed back to the contractor. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Karl Buckingham Facilities Manager

Office Hire
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  14th November 2013

Excellent facility - we needed a location to hold interviews over two days - good location - reception etc Many thanks to Becci for the efficient booking and Becky for her professional assistance and showing candidates to the office

Trowbridge Civic Response:
Many thanks for your feedback and comments for the Customer Service Advisers. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Karl Buckingham Facilities Manager

Five Star All Round
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  12th November 2013

The Royal Marines Association Concert Band & the Military Wives Choir recently performed a charity concert at the Civic Centre. This was our first visit to the venue and definitely won't be our last. Both groups travel the world giving concerts so we have experienced all types of venues small and large, and all types of staff, helpful & not so helpful! Without doubt the staff at the Civic Centre are up there with the best, they couldn't have been more helpful, patient, and understanding of all our needs. The venue itself was immaculately clean too & had all the facilities a modern venue should have. If you are thinking of hiring this venue do so with confidence... you will have to go a long way to find better facilities and more helpful staff.

Trowbridge Civic Response:
Many thanks for the great feedback. We are extremely happy that the event went well for your group. We look forward to having you back at the Civic some time in the near future. Karl Buckingham Facilities Manager

Cleanliness rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Catering rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Staff rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Expectations met:
starstarstarstarstar

Visiting again?
starstarstarstarstar

Recommend us?
starstarstarstarstar

Jethro evening.
star

Submitted:  10th November 2013

Jethro brill, entrance congested, chaos to find seats, rows not lettered. Programme began with people still needing chairs brought in. Alchohol in auditorium should not be allowed. Glasses and bottles left on floor. A health and safety issue! Disturbance with audience going in and out fetching drinks. Did not pay £19.50 to have the enjoyment of Jethro totally runed. Will think long and hard before a return to the Civic Hall events.

Trowbridge Civic Response:
We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the event as intended. We use all feedback received positively to try and improve our services for future events. It was unfortunate that the set up in the auditorium was not 100% leading to confusion over seating arrangements, this was the first time this has happened in the two years the venue has been open. With regards to the drinks being taken into the auditorium, this is quite common across the country, but ultimately itís up to the person who hires the venue to state if this should be allowed or not, only certain events require plastic glass or drink bans under licensing.

Chaos for the Cornish (jJethro)
starstar

Submitted:  9th November 2013

1. The doors opened at 6:45 but people had to queue in the rain albeit it wasn't for long. 2. Where people couldn't get to their seats the foyer was crowded and unstructured chaos. 3. Staff had hoodies over their uniforms so people couldn't identify them to ask questions. 4. The queues for the bars were unstructured and people were being knocked to get to the bars. 5. Anyone could have walked into the foyer, turned left, gone to the bars and when the seats were made available could have walked straight in as further ticket checks were not done. 6. When the doors opened to the seats the rows has no letters so people had to work the rows out for themselves. Chaos! The staff were useless!! 7. I have never been to a performance where glasses could be taken to your seats. Very dangerous. 8. I have never been to a performance where people could just walk in and out to buy drinks. It was so annoying and noisy 9. Some people were drunk on arrival. 10. Finally, I will never go to a performance there again. Ushers should have stayed in Trowbridge as they could have organised a party in a brewery much better than that chaos tonight.

Trowbridge Civic Response:
We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the event as intended. We use all feedback received positively to try and improve our services for future events. It was unfortunate that the set up in the auditorium was not 100% leading to confusion over seating arrangements, this was the first time this has happened in the two years the venue has been open. All of our staff wear black t-shirts with our logo on, the person wearing a hoodie was likely to be part of the hirers crew or a technician and itís unlikely they are able to answer certain questions. With regards to the drinks being taken into the auditorium, this is quite common across the country, but ultimately itís up to the person who hires the venue to state if this should be allowed or not, only certain events require plastic glass or drink bans under licensing.

Suited, Booted, Recruited Course
starstarstar

Submitted:  16th October 2013

While the venue is lovely, the staff are polite and the rooms are excellent, there were unfortunately some complaints from my staff who were delivering the course to our Trowbridge learners. The following issues were raised: - The lunches were not left out for the full hour which meant that when people went back to get a second helping they found the remaining food had already been removed. This is highly frustrating, especially as we have paid for all that food and then not been given the full opportunity to eat it all. - My staff was told they were not allowed to eat in the rooms which meant my staff and students had to eat in the alcove where the food was laid out. There are no chairs in this area and not enough room for them all to be there at the same time. If you will not allow them to eat in the rooms then could you please provide an adequate space and tables and chairs elsewhere for them to eat? - The amount and quality of the food supplied varied each day. - The staff at the venue said they would move our equipment on one of the days and then this did not happen.

Trowbridge Civic Response:
Apologies for the issues you have experienced using our venue. We take all feedback whether positive or negative and use this to ensure the service is improved upon in the future. There were a few issues with other delegates abusing the venues facilities on the day, and some were caught trying to flush food and plastic cups down the toilets, this was brought up with the organisers of this group who offered to clear it up. We are evaluating the food area and intend to schedule lunches to take place in an area on the ground floor where adequate space and seating is, and where all delegates attending events can enjoy their lunch. Lunch is always removed after 1hour due to certain types of food spoiling and this is both in our T&Cís and a Food Safety requirement.

Cleanliness rating:
starstarstar

Catering rating:
starstarstarstar

Staff rating:
starstarstar

Expectations met:
starstarstar

Visiting again?
starstarstarstar

Recommend us?
starstarstar

Fall Ball
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  15th October 2013

We had a wonderful evening and raised a lot of money but would have liked to have sold more tickets. I was disappointed that ticket sales were not actively encouraged more through the Civic Center. The staff were all very helpful and supportive on the night. the catering was very good and excellant value. I felt the hire cost of £414 was excessive for a charity do. A lot of other places we approached had no hire charge for charitable events. I would have liked there to be more flexibility re waiving or reduction of corkage. Because of these points despite the fact that it was a great success I am unlikely to book the Civic Center again which is a shame as we are planning on making it an annual event.

Cleanliness rating:
starstarstar

Catering rating:
starstarstarstar

Staff rating:
starstarstarstar

Expectations met:
starstarstarstar

Visiting again?
starstar

Recommend us?
star

Our big day
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  16th August 2013

Having spent a whole year organizing our wedding, all I was worried about was that the day went well. But with my contact Claire Williams at the Civic Centre I really didn’t need to worry, when we arrived at the Civic Centre after our church wedding Claire was there waiting for us and our guests, making sure that it all went well. I even seen Claire sorting through the food to make sure that it all looked great, but still being very discrete. I would recommend this venue as it looked great and the staff was second to none. So a massive thank you MR & Mrs J Flower



Cleanliness rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Catering rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Staff rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Expectations met:
starstarstarstarstar

Visiting again?
starstarstarstarstar

Recommend us?
starstarstarstarstar

Wiltshire Money Booking 12th July
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  8th August 2013

Very good - lovely open room, although aircon was a bit noisy. Very welcoming staff I would appreciate the invoice sooner rather than later!

WEDDING VENUE.
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  3rd August 2013

We got married at the Civic Centre in July of this year and we had the whole day there. Not only did the venue look fresh, clean and in a high standard the staff that assisted us on our special day were AMAZING. From Karl Buckingham the Events Manager to Claire Williams our Wedding Coordinator to Carl Triggs, Tyrone Triggs, all the bar staff and Victoria's catering team. There was nothing that they weren't happy to help with and are all very professional, this made our day even more relaxing knowing we were in good hands. All of our guests complimented the Civic centre and staff and said how lovely everything was.

Great venue for Focus Groups
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  19th July 2013

TribeMums used the Civic Centre for an event over two days in July. The Civic Centre team were very helpful with regards to dates and changes we had to make along the way, and the event ran very smoothly in terms of access to the venue, the room layout and the catering. We love the new look Usher suite - fantastic to be able to use the sofas and the outside area for our focus groups. Thank you to all the team!

Brilliant
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  27th June 2013

Every member of staff could not have been more helpful

We would choose the same venue again
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  13th June 2013

Booked one large room for main group plus two further breakout rooms. These accommodated our needs. Refreshments and lunch were supplied to a good standard. Staff very helpful and supportive prior to and during event. A successful event delivered! Parking proved a challenge for some especially one of our disabled delegates. If we need to repeat this training we would choose the same venue again.

Volunteer meeting
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  12th June 2013

The venue was very nice, but we obviously hired it on a busy day as parking was very difficult which caused problems. The air conditioning was a little noisy, but the staff kindly turned it off when we asked. I have to say that your staff could not have done more to make our meeting successful, one of my presenters wanted to access the internet, so a member of staff swapped out the laptop for a faster one that would enable us to show a video.

Fitness and Friendship club
starstarstarstar

Submitted:  11th June 2013

The staff were very helpful and ensured the change of venue to upstairs did not hinder the event.Service users were escorted in the lift and signage was displayed. Refreshments were delivered on time.

Well organised professional venue
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  24th May 2013

We ran a Trade Show in the main hall of the Civic Centre, and cannot fault the arrangements or the attention we received during the day. Free parking in the multi storey nearby was a brilliant bonus - Well done whoever thought that one up - please promote this to other councils throughout the land! Staff were attentive and friendly as anything arose without any feeling of intrusion whatsoever - wouldn't hesitate to recommend the venue of anything of this type.

Cleanliness rating:
starstarstarstar

Catering rating:
starstarstarstar

Staff rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Expectations met:
starstarstarstarstar

Visiting again?
starstarstarstar

Recommend us?
starstarstarstarstar

Great Live Comedy
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  29th April 2013

Me and my boyfriend went to Live at the Civic comedy night and it was such a great night out and best of all it was in Trowbridge! Normally if we go out we go to Bath or Bristol but it was a great event and right on our door step! Thanks!



Cleanliness rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Staff rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Expectations met:
starstarstarstarstar

Visiting again?
starstarstarstarstar

Recommend us?
starstarstarstarstar

Undisputed MMA
starstarstarstarstar

Submitted:  29th April 2013

Had a great evening of mixed martial arts! Was a sell out with a great atmosphere, some really good fights and a very entertaining evening! Highly recommend



Cleanliness rating:
starstarstarstarstar

Expectations met:
starstarstarstarstar

Visiting again?
starstarstarstarstar

Recommend us?
starstarstarstarstar

< Back